9th December 2010

p { margin-bottom: 0.21cm; }
Interesting day yesterday. Took the Christmas parcels to the Post Office – not the local sub-post office, can’t be bothered to stand for an hour in a queue, particularly with my back so wonky. So took myself off to the main Post Office which isn’t far away in the car.
Post Office is full of slightly strange people. The queue wasn’t too bad, and there are always at least three people serving, so it moves quite quickly too. But, and here’s the thing, I am always, always approached by an odd person. Today it was a man behind me who was grumbling loudly about one of the (admittedly peculiar) customers who was chatting very loudly, and saying the same thing over and over again, at one of the tills. When I pointedly ignored him, he asked me what “that over there” was about. Well, it was an advertisement for American Express cheques – of no possible interest to this guy at all. He just wanted to make me respond. So I did. Three words. American Express Cheques. Am I a horrible person? anyway, when this guy got to the till, he started talking nineteen to the dozen as well! Jeez!
Then into the local supermarket, Morrisons, which was quite busy but could have been worse. Got some bits and bobs and when I got to the till, a very pretty young girl was serving, but my goodness me she must either been having a terrible day, or always has a face like a bosted boot. The customer in front of me opened the safety barrier, which says on it, in big letters, DO NOT TOUCH, ALARMED. So the alarm went off, which ticked everybody off, as it has to be manually reset, and the staff were busy enough. Then he said to this girl “Cheer up, it might never happen”. Bad move. Big mistake. She snapped “I’m FINE” and carried on. So when it was my turn I decided against telling her what lovely eyes she has (she does, but way too personal, particularly considering her mood), and just smiled and pretended she wasn’t being horribly rude. When I held out my debit card to pay her, she just pointed, wordlessly, at the little machine thingamajig you have to put it in. Oh jeez. But it’s not the nicest job in the world. On the other hand, younger daughter (henceforth referred to as YD) used to work at the checkouts in Tescos, and whatever sort of day she’d had, she put on her “happy face” at work. Same with elder daughter (ED), who used to work in Bodyshop (not to be confused with The Body Shop).
Then off to see my friend Sylvia who teaches machine knitting. I remembered when I was practically at her house that I’d left her Christmas present at home. Damn and blast! But I was able to post it, without having to go back to the Post Office. Thank goodness. Had a lovely cup of tea and a chat, then home for lunch and a sleep.
In the evening I went to a Jamie @ Home (Jamie Oliver – celeb chef) party. It’s a new range he’s doing, pricey but good quality and only available through the parties. Of course. Ordered a terracotta casserole dish for Vic (who does all the cooking) and a trio of little bowls for me for when I get ingredients ready when I’m baking. Lovely.
My back was absolutely awful all day, staggering around like Quasimodo. 100mg Tramadol, bed (lovely hubby had put on the electric blanket, so it was fabulously warm), slept all night tll 10.30 am, and it’s better today. Not excellent, exactly, but Paracetamol are doing the job, thank goodness, and I’m able to walk about a bit better.
Loads of ironing to do. 12 tops and 4 pairs of trousers. Am working up to it.
Not so cold today, must check the poor old plants in the cold frame and see if they need watering as it’s actually made it above freezing.
Leave a Reply

